1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing Packages

Discussion in 'Beginners Section' started by N14ll, Mar 19, 2013.

  1. Witranx

    Witranx Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    21
    loghonox

    Open Terminal & Type;

    Code:
    gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    Please copy and paste the contents of above.

    ---

    Witranx
     
    #21
  2. s3r0c001

    s3r0c001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    i want to know about iBus installation and add keyboards
     
    #22
  3. s3r0c001

    s3r0c001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    <<< Google Chrome Installation >>>


    Code:
    #sudo apt-get install google-chrome
     
    if sucessifully done...
     
    open Leafpad >file>open>usr/bin/google-chrome
     
    go to line 42 > add>>>  --user-data-dir
     
    
     
    #23
  4. imabuvu

    imabuvu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    apt-get install software-center and then open software center and type in chromium and hit the install button
     
    #24
  5. fareezizwar

    fareezizwar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1

    thank, work for me :)
     
    #25
    Anonym likes this.
  6. stiw47

    stiw47 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah, it's working, but in meantime, I learned something new - chromium is not safe to run as root. It's better to make a non root account if you want to use chromium, and if you want to use Kali for daily use (like me).
     
    #26
    tamno1 likes this.
  7. strokerace

    strokerace New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ummm, running as root is always going to tell its not safe to run a program as root. Which is just a bunch of bull. Its a security feature that was added into Linux many years ago so n00bs don't accidently delete files. ITs no different then be admin on your windows machine. I run as root all the time.
     
    #27
  8. BlackHand

    BlackHand New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank All of U , for support the beg.
     
    #28
  9. ANASTIEL

    ANASTIEL New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Code:
    # deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 7.0 _Kali_ - Official Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20130307-13:03]/ kali contrib main non-free

    #deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 7.0 _Kali_ - Official Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20130307-13:03]/ kali contrib main non-free

    What do would be this error?
     
    #29
  10. blackdoor

    blackdoor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    Do you care telling me why?
    Is it some sort of security concern or just messing with the file?
    And what about Tor as root?
    EDIT: I realized this was just a completely other question, so I started this thread.
    http://www.kalilinux.net/community/threads/running-tor-as-root-is-it-safe.473/
    It's better to go there if you want to talk about this, bye :)
     
    #30
  11. nitin j mutkawoa

    nitin j mutkawoa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    use apt-get dist-upgrade
     
    #31
  12. rawstring

    rawstring Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    50
    You're probably using a cdrom-mirror function
     
    #32
  13. rawstring

    rawstring Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    50
    Update your sources.list.
    You can use KAAIS to do it and install chromium too:
    http://kaais.sourceforge.net/
     
    #33
  14. DarkTiger

    DarkTiger New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1

    lol you do apt-get update first. no sense in upgrading anything if ugprade is going off the same old repo list.
    ## Do this
    Code:
     apt-get clean && apt-get update && apt-get upgrade -y && apt-get dist-upgrade -y 
     
    #34
  15. rawstring

    rawstring Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    50
    The list I handle in my tool is usually always up-to-date, and it does have the latest repo list.
     
    #35

Share This Page