1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't boot kali linux into GUI

Discussion in 'Community' started by foxprogrammer, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. foxprogrammer

    foxprogrammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that finding a way to reinstall kali may be our best option....
     
    #21
  2. MrShingels

    MrShingels New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    mate i know, i was just thinking the same thing. thing is i don't want to have to lose everything i've done so far :(
     
    #22
  3. kali75

    kali75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    19
    If the problem is Your video card try to boot in recovery mode and rename xorg.conf file
    Go into /etc/X11:
    startx
     
    #23
  4. MrShingels

    MrShingels New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    nope, didn't work
     
    #24
  5. foxprogrammer

    foxprogrammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get:
    mv: cannot stat 'xorg.conf' :No such file or directory
     
    #25
  6. foxprogrammer

    foxprogrammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    In terms of not losing all your data I think you have 2 options:
    Take the hard disk out of your laptop/pc and transfer data that way.
    Or
    Transfer all your data to some form of removable media.
     
    #26
  7. MrShingels

    MrShingels New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    well after trying every command known to man i accepted defeat and reinstalled kali from scratch. i'm now back up and running however i have lost all my work that i'd done over the past year or so. a little sad but not the end of the world.
     
    #27
  8. foxprogrammer

    foxprogrammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you use a bootable usb?
    If not then how did you do it?
    I would have reinstalled kali long ago if my bios was working...
     
    #28
  9. MrShingels

    MrShingels New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah though a bootable USB. you're bios isn't working?!
     
    #29
  10. Bob

    Bob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not a problem!! just connect to Ethernet and than go to http://linuxg.net/change-your-desktop-environment-on-kali-linux/ and look for Desktop environment you want to install.. i prefer Gnome or kde .. install them by using command on the link
    after finished install, reboot and you will get GUI boot again.. (hopefully tho)
    well when i using Kali Linux i had same issue as you (i guess) as far i read ur question! so let try.. this happened to me, when i use apt-get auto-remove :( so don't used this command haha btw read careful. Good Luck
     
    #30
  11. foxprogrammer

    foxprogrammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't seem to have a bois, the only way I installed kali in the first place was through unetbootin automatically doing it.
    I have tried lots of different keys and can get into the system setup, or though no matter how I change the boot order there is no success.... :'(
     
    #31
  12. foxprogrammer

    foxprogrammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    New
    Not a problem!! just connect to Ethernet and than go to http://linuxg.net/change-your-desktop-environment-on-kali-linux/ and look for Desktop environment you want to install.. i prefer Gnome or kde .. install them by using command on the link
    after finished install, reboot and you will get GUI boot again.. (hopefully tho)
    well when i using Kali Linux i had same issue as you (i guess) as far i read ur question! so let try.. this happened to me, when i use apt-get auto-remove :( so don't used this command haha btw read careful. Good Luck


    I get:
    E: unable to fetch some archives, maybe run apt-get update or try with --fix-missing?
    When I try apt-get update I get:
    W: some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used.

    Also:
    Err
    is written wherever there is a url listed.

    Thanks
     
    #32
  13. rawstring

    rawstring Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    50
    Check your sources.list content maybe..
     
    #33
  14. foxprogrammer

    foxprogrammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    nano /etc/sources.list
    gives a blank box with nothing in it.
     
    #34
  15. kali75

    kali75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    19
    The correct path is:
    /etc/apt/sources.list
     
    #35
  16. Bob

    Bob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because you didn't connect to internet that why getting error when you type update and etc...it will get error for sure.
    Just check sources.list first make sure everything is right. Than try to connect to your Ethernet cable to you Kali machine.
    When you try update or download file from internet getting error that mean internet still not connected.
    ___
    Let me know how it go.
     
    #36
  17. rawstring

    rawstring Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    50
    Look into my signature, there is an app called KAAIS which I developed, and does all of that for you.
     
    #37
    Bob likes this.
  18. rawstring

    rawstring Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    50
    And since you're at it. After you mess so much with your installation, you should re-install Kali all over again. I bet if you can solve your issue eventually, your installation will be VERY VERY messed up. Get an USB or DVD with Kali in it and re-install everything all over again.
     
    #38
    Bob likes this.
  19. Bob

    Bob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    respect > i use you script too tho (y) Thankss you
     
    #39
  20. foxprogrammer

    foxprogrammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, I can now access sources.list, can you tell me what SHOULD be in there?
     
    #40

Share This Page