1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2016.2 installed but hanging early during startup

Discussion in 'Beginners Section' started by Hunter23, Dec 1, 2016.

1. Hunter23

Hunter23 New Member

Hi Everybody,

Joined the forum today to get advice on an issue with completing the install of KL2016.2 on a Dell Inspiron laptop with Windows 10 in dual boot. I was surprised at the large number of messages posted about installation issues with KL so seems as though I a not alone but I couldn't find any reference to my particular issue hence the query. First off I am a relative Linux newbie - familiar with it to a point but have spent most of my years in Windows (sorry!).

I started this journey a couple of days ago by attempting to put KL onto a bootable USB device using the standard guides provided on the KL forum. Seemed to work fine and laptop did boot to initial menu screen but when I selected live version it was always hanging and never completed loading. I tried using the same USB device on my desktop machine and it worked fine so assumed to be no issue with the USB and software on it.

Today I figured I would try the dual boot option on the laptop. Went through the install procedure fine using the same USB to install KL from and I now have the option to boot KL or windows, with KL now occupying the MBR.
    When I launch the "Kali GNU/Linux" option from the "GNU GRUB Version 2.02~beta2-36" menu it stalls very early. All that I see on screen are the 3 lines below and from reading about these errors it didn't necessarily mean they were the showstoppers.

/dev/sda7: clean, 320046/11763712 files, 2871457/47032064
    [ 7.285580] tpm_crb MSFT0101:00: can't request region for resource [mem 0xfed40040-0xfed4103f]
    [ 8.683628] lwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Unsupported splx structure